Liam Hickmott Claims 2018 Taylor Medal

Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 10:08 PM

Subiaco Colts midfielder Liam Hickmott has written himself into the club record books by winning the 2018 Taylor Medal, his second consecutive win.


Hickmott is only the fourth player to win two Colts Fairest & Best Awards in the club’s proud history and is the first to do so, since Craig Hoskins earlier this decade.


Hickmott is the first player to in fact win consecutive Taylor Medals.


After winning the 2017 Taylor Medal, Hickmott was even better in 2018, averaging over 25 disposals and seven tackles per contest.


HIckmott became the best performing WAFL Colts player in 2018, taking out both the league fairest and best, the Jack Clarke Medal as well as the Colts Coaches award.


What promised to be an exciting count, became a formality as Hickmott took an early lead in the count and was never threatened, posting a commanding victory.


Behind Hickmott, fellow key midfielder Tristan Hobley finished as Runner Up.


Alongside Hickmott, Hobley became the key components of a dominant Subiaco Colts midfield.


In the second half of the season Hobley was routinely picking up over 30 disposals a game, either winning his own ball, or being in the right spot to receive on the outside.


It was a fitting reward for Hobley who has overcome setbacks across 2018 to now being in draft calculations due to his consistent form and ability to show his hard working traits.


Third place in the Taylor Medal went to versatile utility Kyle Stainsby.


Stainsby was one of the players who embraced and benefitted most from a hard edged style employed by coach Beau Wardman, with his ability to play a role crucial to the teams success.


Stainsby averaged over 14 disposals and five tackles per contest in 2018, having a number of key contributions throughout the season, including in finals where his defensive efforts were noted by his teammates.


Along with his third place finish, Stainsby was recognised amongst his peers by taking out the Lionhearted award, recognising the most courageous member of the Subiaco Colts squad.


In other key awards on the night, Jake McKinnon was Player of the Finals and Josh Leunig took out the Newton Screaigh Award.


McKinnon had a crucial impact on both Subiaco finals, with his final minute smother one of the defining moments of the season.


Leunig’s efforts to overcome injuries to be a key part of Subiaco’s defence and premiership team were acknowledged in the highly coveted coach award.


Other winners included Ben Golding taking out the best first year award, Adam Vallelonga the most consistent and Abe Clinch the encouragement award.


WAFL Colts leading goal kicker Jack Mayo was also presented with his leading goal kicker award after finishing with 50 goals on the season.


Long time supporters of the Subiaco Colts program in Rod Jenkins and Sarah Harris were both recognised for their efforts over an extended period in an emotional part of the night.


Jenkins who has assisted with stats for over 20 years is calling time on his career with Subiaco while Harris the head trainer will also finish up after a decade with the Lions.


Subiaco Colts Major Partner AE Hoskins Building Services were also presented with a framed premiership jumper with Michael Hoskins, and his team thanked for their ongoing commitment to the Subiaco talent pathway.


After a successful season which culminated with the third Colts premiership in Subiaco history, plans now turn to achieving something that the club has not done before, back to back premierships.






Taylor Medallist

Liam Hickmott

Fairest & Best


Rod Wholohan Memorial Trophy

Tristan Hobley

Runner Up Fairest & Best


Outstanding Play Award

Kyle Stainsby

Third Fairest & Best


Newton Screaigh Award

Josh Leunig

Coaches Award


Rod Jenkins Award

Jake McKinnon

Player of Finals


Ladies Forum Award

Adam Vallelonga

Most Consistent


Past Players & Supporters Award

Abe Clinch

Encouragement Award


Lionhearted Award

Kyle Stainsby

Most Courageous


Best First Year Player

Ben Golding


Colts Leading Goal Kicker

Jack Mayo



Recognition of Service


Rod Jenkins



Sarah Harris



AE Hoskins Building Services





TOP 10


Liam Hickmott 163 Votes

Tristan Hobley 137 Votes

Kyle Stainsby 103 Votes

Luke Foley 100 Votes

Jake McKinnon 95 Votes

Jack Mayo 91 Votes

Jacob Peltier 70 Votes

Taj Schofield 53 Votes

Wil Hickmott 43 Votes

Nick Martin 33 Votes