Horsley Creates History with Third Outridge Medal Win

Friday, October 5, 2018 - 11:13 PM

Subiaco captain Kyal Horsley has added to his swelling legacy at the club by becoming a three time Outridge Medallist after taking out the 2018 Outridge Medal.


Over 200 Subiaco dignitaries, players, coaches, volunteers and fans were on hand as Horsley held off a fast finishing chasing pack, finishing on 566 votes.


Behind Horsley, the 2017 Outridge Medallist, Leigh Kitchin finished second on 537 votes with 2018 recruit Zac Clarke rounding out the placings on 528 votes.


A night of champions after a season of premiership success, was highlighted by two of the modern day champions of the Subiaco Football Club.


Horsley’s 2018 win follows Outridge Medals in 2014 and 2011, becoming just the seventh Subiaco player to win three Outridge Medals.


A history making Subiaco season got its own bit of history, with Horsley the first player in club history to win Outridge Medals in two different premiership seasons.


Meanwhile as Horsley took his place among the great players in club history, outgoing coach Jarrad Schofield was recognised for his contribution to the club that dates back 20 years as both a player and coach.


Schofield is the first ever Subiaco coach to lead the club to three premierships, following three premierships as player.


For Schofield’s dedication and service to the club he was presented with a special framed “6” jumper highlighting his success at the proud Subiaco Football Club.


After looking on pace for a big win after storming the start of the count, there were a few nervy moments late, as the chasing pack led by Kitchin pulled within 20 votes.


However a dominant Grand Final by Horsley that saw him win the Simpson Medal, was the fitting end to an outstanding season by the Subiaco captain.


For the runner-up in Kitchin, it was a fine reward for another consistent season as the Subiaco midfielder continues to be a key part of Subiaco’s success both on field and off field.


Kitchin’s leadership has grown across his time with Subiaco and he took another step forward in this area this year.


In third place was ruckman Clarke who stormed home with a series of best on ground votes at the end of the year, pipping his ruck tandem Lachlan Delahunty.


Clarke’s importance to Subiaco was seen numerous times through the year and his third placed finish in the fairest and best count highlights that key contribution that Clarke made to Subiaco’s season of premiership success.


Rounding out the top five were Delahunty who followed up his runner-up from 2017 with another top five finish, and Josh Deluca who like Clarke had a barnstorming finish to the season.


Interestingly, Deluca matched Horsley in a vote per game basis at 28 votes per game, with the unlucky Deluca missing three matches during the year.


Veteran Chris Phelan was sixth while Subiaco’s key five defenders finished between seventh and twelfth, with Angus Litherland seven, Aaron Heal eight, Hayden Kennedy nine, Drew Rohde 11 and Jordan Lockyer 12.


Forward Ben Sokol rounded out the top ten, with his second straight top ten finish in the Outridge Medal.


Other league award winners on the night were Hayden Kennedy who took out the Newton Screaigh Award, as decided by the coaches, while veteran leader Justin Joyce won the prestigious City of Subiaco Medallion.


Jacob Miller was recognised with the Rising Star Award, Ben Sokol the Goal Kicking Award and Jordan Lockyer and Leigh Kitchin joint winners of the Player of the Finals.


GOLDS Player of the Year was Kyal Horsley with Zac Clarke Runner Up.


Long time trainer Scott Flood was honoured with the President’s Trophy for 2018.


A history making season, culminating with a history making Outridge Medal, Kyal Horsley your three time Subiaco champion.






Outridge Medallist

Kyal Horsley

Fairest & Best


Don Carter Memorial Trophy

Leigh Kitchin

Runner Up Fairest & Best


Ted Doherty Memorial Trophy

Zac Clarke

Third Fairest & Best


City of Subiaco Medallion

Justin Joyce

Best Clubman


Newton Screaigh Award

Hayden Kennedy

Coaches Award


Austin Robertson Jnr Trophy

Ben Sokol

Leading Goal Kicker


Dennis Barron Memorial Trophy

Jacob Miller

Rising Star Award



Kyal Horsley

GOLDS Player of the Year


Player of Finals

Leigh Kitchin & Jordan Lockyer


President’s Trophy

Scott Flood




TOP 20


Kyal Horsley 566 Votes

Leigh Kitchin 537 Votes

Zac Clarke 528 Votes

Lachlan Delahunty 516 Votes

Josh Deluca 488 Votes

Chris Phelan 482 Votes

Angus Litherland 477 Votes

Aaron Heal 469 Votes

Hayden Kennedy 467 Votes

Ben Sokol 452 Votes

Drew Rohde 437 Votes

Jordan Lockyer 433 Votes

Rowen Powell 371 Votes

Jacob Miller 341 Votes

Max Walters 337 Votes

Greg Clark 317 Votes

Braden Fimmano 309 Votes

Ben Newton 307 Votes

Rhys Waters 301 Votes

Kyle Halligan 272 Votes